Interview with Ray Ndebi #OneAfricanChild #Cameroon #Africa #oneafricanleader

“The pride of a son is his mother’s smile. It is not everyday that one has the opportunity to see the face of Harmony, but it is every second that one has the chance to make it real.” Ray Ndebi, OneAfricanChild.

On our way to meet our various Country Representatives, we are passing through Cameroon where we shall have a talk with RAY NDEBI. His commitment is an example of faith and hard work.

Five questions, we ask him, reveal the depth of his conscience.

  • How did you come to be involved with OAC?
  • What is your personal drive?
  • What is your vision for Cameroon?
  • What is your vision for Africa?
  • What do we need to care for young people/children?

1- December 2013, I met Victoria Ibiwoye on Twitter. The same vision of children dancing in the heart of a rainbow made us hold each other’s hand. Victoria then told me about OneAfricanChild as an Initiative promoting Peace, Love, Happiness, and she requested my presence in the building of a wonderful world for children. There was not a choice to be made, for the call of a child is the call of God.

2- I Love Children. They are the only plain on earth where roses are always red and leaves eternally green. As a child, I used to tell my mother: “I’d give my soul to make a poor child smile.” I grew up in a poor area, where I encountered numerous issues as a teenager (poor/no education, drug addiction, violence, abuses of many sorts, crimes…). Poor children always being involved. I witnessed children’s struggle on a daily basis, I saw them dying in the “battlefield”. And most importantly, I saw families being destroyed because of children not being educated. I told myself:”In the future, rich or poor, I shall dedicate my life to children.”

3- Cameroon is beautiful piece of Earth and wonderful land. History call it “the world in miniature”. But it has also topped corruption lists for years, turning the lives of citizens into a one way dead end. My vision is to see my country, Cameroon, as a happy home and a garden where children will‎ enjoy wealth and security.

4- I see Africa as the mother of humanity. As such, the continent deserves Respect and ‎Love. I see Africa as home from which populations will no longer run. Misery is gaining ground, and it becomes vital to stand and build a happy future with their own hands. I see an Africa where Children can have the opportunity to lead and make their soil fruitful. Children should have their word, for they are the future. My vision of Africa is place for the youth to be listened and understood.

5- Young people and children are an open book. All we need is to follow the way they show, and how they show it. The most important thing in success is How we get there rather than just getting there. We need to praise their importance by making them the core of all our actions; effectively involving them in the building process grants us the success of each enterprise. Children need Peace, and wherever they feel it they long to stay. If our children and our young people are dissatisfied with any of our steps, the best way to take care of them is to change our way and follow theirs. One thing is certain: whoever follows a child is never misled.

Ray Ndebi, man of faith.

Leave a Reply

