THE VOICE OF AN AFRICAN CHILD #1africanchild #poetry #children #Africa

In the heart of Nigeria, shines a light that was born from the wombs of Mother Africa. The sense of Hope and Faith. That light is called Emmanuel Fada, a young leader and a 17 years old scholar of Jumpstart Academy, Nigeria. He is passionate about Writing and Drama. Emmanuel finds great pleasure in impacting lives of African children and youths. He desires to be an African leader, a resource person and an outstanding movie producer in the near future.

Emmanuel Fada, the vision of a young poet.
Emmanuel Fada, the vision of a young poet.

Emmanuel has a word from his soul, and he decides to share it with your soul. Here he goes:

The Voice of an African Child

I am confused… I am fed up…
How I wish papa could give this a stop
Though Mama tries and so hard
Having us just a meal per day, Oh how sad
For good clothings and shelter, I doubt if we will ever come across
I doubt tide ever helps carry this heavy cross
Well, this is our fate
Is there anything to celebrate?
In the humiliated lives of these eight to grow
Including my very self and the poor widow
We are subject to hate and baits
Seeking for freedom where derision reigns
Oh poor hands of mine, seeing off my sibling
That young life in the bed of sickness shivering
Oh, subconsciously I am echoing out my thoughts
(Sigh) I am not surprised at why Mama thinks a lot
I feel upon us
Poverty is like a curse
And blessing seems hollow nurse
But thanks to papa I learnt to yield grace
And I dug mud and earth for money to be raised
And my heart suffered as my siblings begged for food
When my mind was begging for school
I wait for the course of the wind to change
I hope today is the day before the change

Mama! Mama!
The fire has boiled the herbs well
We can now treat my sister
So that she will be well.

Emmanuel believes in simplicity and justice, and he knows, as a prophecy, that Africa shall rise again and stand strong. His word is a call. Do not listen to him, but listen to your own soul; you shall then understand the need of Africa. The need of a wonderful future for children. 

5 thoughts on “THE VOICE OF AN AFRICAN CHILD #1africanchild #poetry #children #Africa

  1. From the home front to the society, the poem echoes the troubling realities of many African families and emphasises the resilience that keeps them going. Quite thought provoking.

  2. poetry as described by Michael Edison, is a writing that touches the heart and impact the mind…..Emmanuel believe me,your writing is more of a piece of diamond….keep feeding the hungry world

Leave a Reply

